AVS Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all Audiophiles, i am new to the home theater world. I have been doing some reading online for last couple days and its so overwhelming to look at the different options/tech available. Can you please provide some recommendations?
I bought a brand new home with finished upper level and an unfinished basement, and the contractor is finishing up the basement now. I want to build a Media room and spoke to my local home theater store to come and do the pre-wire install for 7.1.4 Dolby Atmos. But i wanted some recommendations from you Pros on what components to purchase.

Is it better to purchase a 'Home Theater In a Box' all from the same brand(like Pioneer or onkyo etc)
(or )
Should i do Mix and match speaker brands to get better bang for the buck.

Required Setup: Based on what i read so far I was planning to go for a Dolby Atmos 5.1.2 (although i pre-wired for a 7.1.4 setup).
Room Dimensions: 12 feet Wide wall * 20 Feet Long * 8 Height. Seating to be near 14 feet with a 106 inch screen on the wall.
Type of Media: Listen to mostly Folk Metal/Nu Metal/Electronic Dance Music. Wife likes to watch movies/TV Shows(Mostly HD/4k Content from Netflix/Amazon Prime)
Budget: 10K is approved from Wifey, but can go upto 15K. I am ok to spend a premium for components that i can take along with me if i sell my home 5 years down the lane. But for anything which will stay in home, i dont want to go that crazy.

Here is what i found from my google research so far. Don't have a clue if all these individual components are compatible with each other though.

1) Speakers

Listener Level Surroud Package: Which one do you recommend?

a) SVS prime-tower-surround-system (Comes with 2 Towers, 1 Center and 2 satellite Surround): $1550
b) ELAC Uni-fi (2 UF5 Floorstanding Speakers, 1 UC5 Center, 2 UB5 bookshelf) : $1850
c) Sonus Faber Chameleon T( 2 Floorstanding speakers, 1 Center, 2 Bookshelf) : $3450