AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought a Denon AVR-1905 receiver to match to Ascend CBM-170 bookshelves a few months back. I love the sound they give for movies, but my love is listening to music in 2.1. So......here's my problem. I find that something about this combination leaves me wishing my speakers had more midbass and midrange presence. The combination is very accurate, but kind of has a hollow sound. I know that denon's aren't the warmest of receivers, and that the Ascend bookshelves are VERY neutral or even a bit on the bright side to some. Is this combination doomed to lack warmth? Would it be a better idea to change speakers or my AVR? Also, for the ascend guys, would switching to the 340's for mains give me more of what I want? I'm pretty aggravated, since I'm a college student I don't have the money to just go switch out everything. Let me hear your ideas. Thanks guys. Also, feel free to suggest some warmer sounding bookshelves or receivers.

·
Registered
496 Posts
if your going to use 80Hz on the receiver, I've been told by many to crank the crossover on your sub to max so you use the crossover on the amp.

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Quote:
Originally Posted by amb7247
if your going to use 80Hz on the receiver, I've been told by many to crank the crossover on your sub to max so you use the crossover on the amp.
I can try this too. I still think the setup is just too laid back though and hollow sounding. I don't want piercing treble, but I do like punchy mids.

·
Registered
35 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Also, this becomes more noticeable at higher volumes. My denon AVR is SUPPOSED to put out 75 watts X 7 Channels. At -20 dB would this start to push the AVR too hard and also cause thinness to the sound? Are the claims of 75 watts X 7 even accurate? Would an Harmon Kardon AVR 335 work better for me?

·
Registered
757 Posts