AVS Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
323 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Asked this on another forum but this appears to be the exact place i should have asked it. I'm extremely new to all of this so please forgive my ignorance.

Anyways i've got a room in the basement being transitioned into a theater room. Light control will be good...fully enclosed room with a couple small windows that i will cover with blackout drapes. Low ceilings give me an overall physical screen height restriction of 56". The max size 16:9 screen that'll fit is a 106" screen. Since i've got plenty of room width i looked into a 128" 2.35 screen which lists an overall height of 54" with an image height 50'.

Using projector central's calculator it shows a 11'3" throw distance for a 2.35 128" screen with the W1070 set to to max 1.3x zoom. With the same throw distance of 11'3" it shows a 103" 16:9 screen of the same height with the zoom set to 1.0x

Seems like it'd work with the projector mounted to 11'3" throw and be easy to just reach up and set the zoom to max or min depending on content......if i'm mistaken please let me know as I want to be certain before buying the screen. If this seems like a bad idea then i'll just go with the original plan of a 16:9 106".

·
Registered
23,130 Posts
Technically you need 1.33x zoom for CIH, while the W1070 has only 1.30. In practice that just means that if you've got a 2.35:1 screen, when you zoom for 16:9 it will just spill over your screen edge a bit, probably not a big deal. Looks like the 1070's got plenty of Lens shift so you should be OK there too.

You'll want masking on the front wall and probably the ceiling by the screen to absorb the overspill.

·
Banned
3,901 Posts
There's a guy who did just that on the w1070 forum. But he put a sliding ceiling mount to get the best of both worlds and be able to move the projector closer to still be able to do 16:9 full rez. It's in the last dozen or two pages.

·
Registered
23,130 Posts