AVS Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, guys. I am a member of a local cinema club and we want to buy a projector. The room to be used has a screen 3m wide and is quite dark (black walls). We may use it occasionaly with a 9m wide screen in an outside place.

Both models produce similar brightness cause they have almost similar lamps (260 and 280watt).

I know that Infocus has 2 great pros. Frame Interpolation and adjustable/manual iris.

We intend to project films/movies that have no action scenes etc... So I'm thinking whether Frame interpolation and manual iris are not that of an advantage for the use we want it.

On the other hand I heard that Benq dynamic iris is a bit problematic in the sense that when the subtitle colour is white the iris get affected by that...and that the dynamic iris of Benq W6000 is a bit slow... etc.

I am not experienced on projectors so I don't know if all these will be visible to the people who are going to watch. The price difference between the models is not small... so I want to read your views on that...

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
2,173 Posts
Without knowing the exact details of your setup, I'm thinking the Benq W6000 will be the most flexible. It is also smaller and easier to move around than the SP8602. The Iris isn't as bad as some make it out to be, at least not the one I've experience with. You can actually tweak the Iris settings of the W6000 if need be.

The SP8602 has better contrast, colors and brighter after calibration. This may or may not be of some importance to your group. If you're not overly critical of the picture quality itself, the W6000 should be more than adequate.