AVS Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I need help deciding which speaker would work best. My main purpose for use is gaming and movies. I have narrowed it down to 2 choices. The Klipsch RF 82's or the B&W 683. The Klipsch rating for sensitivity is 98, while the B&W is rated at 90. I am fairly new to all of this and any feedback would be welcome.

thnx,

Gavo149

·
Banned
8,744 Posts
The Klipsch sensitivity rating is exaggerated. It won't be close to 98 dB. Even so, it is no weakling, it will still undoubtedly have greater dynamic range than the B&W speakers. In a large room, they may be more appropriate. In a medium or smaller room, either will be fine. Neither would be my first choice at their price points.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks for the feedback......I did actually audition the B&W's at the local best buy....but in my opinion, this is not a good place to listen to a speaker. the magnolia room is small and cramped with other speakers. What other speakers would you recommend in this price range?

·
Registered
9,681 Posts
For gaming and movies the klipsch are very nice regardless of price. For music many like them, many do not.

When I demoed them at a magnolia I didn't like them for music. But after trying them in my home they sound great with music and are incredible for movies.

·
Banned
8,744 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by gavo149  /t/1523571/best-choice-for-front-speakers#post_24514223

thanks for the feedback......I did actually audition the B&W's at the local best buy....but in my opinion, this is not a good place to listen to a speaker. the magnolia room is small and cramped with other speakers. What other speakers would you recommend in this price range?