AVS Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am a novice to the home theater world but want to learn more. I have been lurking on this forum for past few days and really amazed at all the thouhgtful responses by people.

I am looking into some in-ceiling speakers for both outdoors and indoors

INDOORS

I have cathedral ceilings in my living room so probably 20' high with slope starting at 10'. The living room is 18'X20' and the open kitchen is 13'X19'

I am thinking of buying the Devon AVR E-400 that can provide 5.1 indoors and connect 2 speakers in the patio with a different source essentially letting us enjoy music in "two rooms" from different sources.

For the 5.1 in living, I am planning to put the 4 speakers high up in the cathedral. I will put a center speaker and subwoofer on the floor. 1) Does that work to have the 4 in-ceiling speakers that high (around 16 to 18' high)?

2) If the speakers are that high, what would be a good power output for those speakers?

3) Would a eye-ball speaker be better?

4) Any brands that you might recommend. I know Paradigm has in-celing speakers and I think outlaw might have too.

OUTDOORS

It is a covered patio and am planning to put 2 in-ceiling speakers. Same questions but I am looking for weather-resistant speakers.

Thanks!

·
Registered
1,035 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by frenzyrider  /t/1470012/best-in-ceiling-speakers#post_23247714

Anyone?

You're new, so I'll be kind

The search feature is very useful and will get you lots of opinions before most people respond to your question.