AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm considering a projector for: (A) live TV/Tivo, (B) DVDs, (C) occasional computer use, probably from laptops rather than dedicated HTPC, for things like digital photo display/editing, web surfing, maybe games, etc. I don't have an HDTV signal to project currently, and while that may change at some point, I can't imagine projecting HDTV for a large fraction of use any time soon.

I think the HS10 would suit my purposes great, but it doesn't seem very easy to get right now, and if you can find one, the prices are still fairly high due to the demand.

Every sub-$5k projector on the recommended list at projectorcentral.com is either a DLP projector (I wouldn't want to give rainbow headaches to any of my friends who may be sensitive even if I turn out not to be), or a projector with less than 768 vertical resolution. I'm not a projector expert, but it seems that 1024x768 is a minimum for reasonable computer use for photo viewing/editing, web surfing, etc., especially for hooking up random, possibly older, laptop computers. I imagine the 1/4 HD projectors like the L300U are not going to be nearly as good for this as an XGA or WXGA projector. Even the 1280x720 TW100 probably creates headaches for computer projecting, right?

So what else gives reasonableHT performance for TV and DVDs that has at least 1024x768 native resolution for reasonable computer use? Panasonic PT-LC75U (roughly $1600-1700 street right now)? Or maybe the more expensive PT-L720U, but what besides a bit of extra brightness justifies spending roughly $1100 street more for it? Compared to the HS10, both of these unfortunately lack digital input.

Are there any other good XGA/WXGA options for under $3k?