AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to the AVS Forum and this is my first post here. This site has taught me a great deal since I made the mistake of assuming an LCD HDTV would handle SDTV as well as my CRT TV. Now after six months I am a little more educated, a little less embarrassed and ready to try my luck with PJ's. I had a couple of questions I was hoping someone here could help me with. I am trying to find the BEST projector given my mostly 480i source content. I have scoured this forum for about a week now and I think I have learned enough to be able to ask the right questions.

Source Content

50% - Last gen, 480i video games (Sega Saturn & Dreamcast thru S-Video, PS2 thru Component)

25% - DVD's (Either played through my laptop or prog-scan DVD player)

20% - SD CableTV (Analog, not digital but I can upgrade if necessary for PQ)

5% - HD Content (May purchase HDTV Tuner & XBox 360 in future)

Priorities

1. PQ and quality de-interlacing of 480i content

2. Image Size of at least 98" in 4:3 (or 120" in 16:9)

3. Ability to buy extended bulb/lamp warranty

4. Cost - Want to stay under $700 including warranty but will pay more for quality de-interlacing

At first I thought a good 480p like the IN72 would provide the best value for what I needed. Then I saw a Mitsu HD1000u that handled what I needed really well but wondered if the extra cost for 720p was necessary for what I needed. Further, as good as the 480i content looked on the Mitsu, could it look better on a 480p projector since the native res is closer to the source? Then I started reading about older, native 4:3 480p PJ's and really started to get confused because I could get a used Optoma (w/ a Faroudja processor maybe), but would run the risk of having to replace the bulb. So I guess I need help on the following:

Would I get the same level of PQ on a 480p PJ as I would on a 720p PJ given 480i source material?