AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi gang. Read alot of very useful information in this forum, and now I have a question of my own to pose. I'm finally ready to take the plunge and get a HD receiver and I would like to know which one would work best with my Elite 610HD tv set? I currently have the SA2000HD thru Time Warner but I feel like I'm missing out on so much content with the local channels thru OTA and HDNet.

Just wondering because I've read some other posts where people mention that a certain brand of stb works best with a certain type of set because of a line doubler or whatever else. Also, I'm kinda new to this so please take it easy on me :D

Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

-Chad

·
Registered
933 Posts
My Elite works well with the DTC-100....I tried the Toshiba but it darkened my picture so much that I had to set contrast/black level to about 80% of max. The channel guide is slower than the Toshiba but the picture is just as good if not better. I use the RGB connection and am *very* pleased with the color and color balance for HD channels....I mention this specifically because, of course, you can't change the color when you use the RGB connection. I haven't tried the other STBs.

·
Registered
82 Posts
I am using an Elite 510HD with a Toshiba DST-3000 and it works great. Have not had any brightness or contrast issues.

My set is also ISF calibrated.

·
Registered
152 Posts
I have an Elite 510HD also. I used an RCA DTC-100 for a couple of years with the RGB input and recently switched to the Toshiba DST-3000. I like the Toshiba better with it's integrated advanced program guide. You can change channels from DirecTv to OTA directly with the Toshiba; with the RCA you have to switch modes first. The Tosh is also a lot faster in changing channels and bringing up the guide.