AVS Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently bought a pair of new speakers which sound GREAT, but only go down to around 60-65Hz, and so I'm looking for a sub to go with them. However, I'm a student on a budget and don't have endless amounts of cash. $250 is my max.

Music preferences:

Good amount of electronic music (bassnectar, deadmau5, benny benassi)

A bit of hiphop/rap

Lots of Rock

I've been doing a bit of shopping around (read:amazon) but all I have to go on is mislead manufacturer specs and less than reliable and often conflicting reviews. (For example, reviews on the BIC VK-12 say the Polk PSW505 can destroy it, which has reviews saying the BIC F-12 is comparable, possibly better at a lower price. Yet the VK-12 and the F-12 are both made by BIC, the latter of which is the lower end model. Yet somehow people are saying it out performs another sub that outperforms the higher end model. Very confusing.)

Can someone help me out here?

·
Registered
1,693 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by saywhut /forum/post/20896357

I recently bought a pair of new speakers which sound GREAT, but only go down to around 60-65Hz, and so I'm looking for a sub to go with them. However, I'm a student on a budget and don't have endless amounts of cash. $250 is my max.

Music preferences:

Good amount of electronic music (bassnectar, deadmau5, benny benassi)

A bit of hiphop/rap

Lots of Rock

I've been doing a bit of shopping around (read:amazon) but all I have to go on is mislead manufacturer specs and less than reliable and often conflicting reviews. (For example, reviews on the BIC VK-12 say the Polk PSW505 can destroy it, which has reviews saying the BIC F-12 is comparable, possibly better at a lower price. Yet the VK-12 and the F-12 are both made by BIC, the latter of which is the lower end model. Yet somehow people are saying it out performs another sub that outperforms the higher end model. Very confusing.)