AVS Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
366 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
For hd cam, I'm a noob! Even if the setup of this camera is pretty easy, I'm looking for tips on setting up the camera right to get the best possible video quality for different occasion.

What settings should I use to film outdoor familly scenes? Should I use 60I - P30 - P24 ??

Different settings for indoor or low light situations?

Let me know what you pro's know!!! THX !

·
Registered
1,206 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by lockeed /forum/post/15460439

For hd cam, I'm a noob! Even if the setup of this camera is pretty easy, I'm looking for tips on setting up the camera right to get the best possible video quality for different occasion.

What settings should I use to film outdoor familly scenes? Should I use 60I - P30 - P24 ??

Different settings for indoor or low light situations?

Let me know what you pro's know!!! THX !

Well first, im not a pro. But I find to use the 30p setting in almost everything I shoot works well. 24p is nice, but looks too fake for me. 60i is also nice in direct sunlight, but even 30p is recorded in a 60i container...

I say go what you feel looks the best. This is an art not a science....

·
Registered
1,066 Posts
anything but 24p is my first rule of thumb, although you might want to check it out for extreme low light conditions.

i usually shoot in shutter priority mode, 1/60th of second shutter speed, but you really need to experiment with some of the manual controls... run a series of controlled panning and zoom shots, maybe off of a tripod.

·
Registered
273 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by NJ3118 /forum/post/15461603

Well first, im not a pro. But I find to use the 30p setting in almost everything I shoot works well. 24p is nice, but looks too fake for me. 60i is also nice in direct sunlight, but even 30p is recorded in a 60i container...

I say go what you feel looks the best. This is an art not a science....