AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been shooting on HDV for 1 1/2 years now and have a pretty big libary of HDV footage. I have been thinking about getting into Bluray and HD-DVD authoring but the Sonic Scenarist price tag of $60K for each software is a little steep. Of course Sony has a bargin on Blu-print for only $50K.

Seriously, where does that leave us in the trenches, trying to make a living? Is Roxio DVDitProHD or Ulead Movie Factory 5, good enough for a consumer client? But is it really professional enough for a corporate client? What else is out there for us????

·
Registered
558 Posts
The new version of Nero supports Blu-Ray. I got the demo of it from the Blu-Ray booth at CES. I don't know as far as what options it has or doesn't have but they guys said it is fully blu-ray compatible.

·
Registered
558 Posts
too shay salesman... just noticed that

·
Registered
1 Posts
Hi Jvcjbl,

Right now is a good time to start thinking about Next Generation authoring because in the next 6 months new product developments will be announced that will be far less expensive then the current offerings and will be complete solutions in which you can encode, add the interactive layer, run in a player form (not simulator), test, and then transfer to a duplication house. So right now it is a good time to learn about the interactive layers what they can do for you, for you clients. If this is something you are interested in please visit the DVD One Website for more information you will also find a complete list of hardware, encoders, and software for next generation dvd development on the webiste under the Blog link.

Good Luck!

Denny

·
Registered
3,722 Posts
Here's a stopgap measure that works as long as you don't need fancy menus.