AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a total newbie to the home stereo market, and counted on advice and bought myself a Onkyo 595 to start my home stereo out strong. Now I need speakers.

I want high a high quality brand, but not too expensive. I would like either a nice size pair of front tower speakers or a nice sized pair of bookshelf speakers for the front. I know I should get a nice center speaker too, and I'd like to get decent back speakers for surround action. I'm looking to spend something like $300 if possible, but keep in mind that I just bought a nice receiver and I'd like the speakers to use its high power and quality. If I get a pair of tower speakers with subs in them, do I need an additional sub?

Can you guys throw out some suggestions, I usually find all of your help very informative.

·
Registered
2,803 Posts
Adam,

It's hard to say what would meet your requirements without asking a few questions.

1: How large is your room? This can have an impact on what type of speakers one can recommend. There are several nice sounding smaller speakers, but if the room is too large they these wouldn't perform adequately.

2: How many speakers are you looking to buy? $300.00 is pretty tight for 5.1. You can get a pair of fronts in this price range.

Acoustic Research - HC-6 has recently received good reviews. $525.00 at soundpros.com.

Home Theater Direct has a great line of speakers. Most notably their LEVEL III speakers. If the $300.00 budget is for the fonts, then it's in budget. If not, maybe look at LEVEL I.

Honestly, If you're looking to spend $300.00 for the entire set up, I'd seriously consider making an adjustment. It would be better to return the 595 for something like a 494 and use the difference on the speakers. I think spending more of your budget on the speakers is a better idea.