Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
424 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HI all ,

I have a question

As i am not an expert in any way , i was hoping you all could help me out with the placement of my ceiling mounted ht1000 (when i buy it)

Is it true to say that the brightness will be identical on a closer placed projector and with the zoom all the way in as a farther away projector with the zoom all the way out , both achieving a 92" diag screen

the reason i want to know this is because i want to know to maximize brightness , does it make a difference if the Projector is closer or further once you have used the zoom to get the 92" screensize

Projector central says to achieve the size i need between 9.9 ft. - 12.5 ft.

where should i place my PJ , at 9.9 or 12.5 ft or does it not matter

any comments will be greatly appreciated

·
Registered
40 Posts
Interesting question. I think the brightness measured at the screen would be different at different zoom settings. Having said that, I do not have experience on the HT1000 to tell you if this difference will be meaningful in viewing video.

Also, as f/stop of the lens at wide and at tele, is not published, we won't be able to tell what is optimum. By f/stop, I don't mean a mechanical aperture (or iris) which can be opened up or shut down, but by the optical and mechanical characteristics of the lens, the f/stop may not be constant throughtout the range. If they are the same, that is if the lens is constant f/stop throught the zoom range, then the answer to your question would have to be that the light output at either end of the zoom is the same. Otherwise, it would be dim or bright according the to the f/stoo.

Another consideration would be that most lenses are optically optimum at a particular focal length, rather than at all focal lengths throughout the zoom range. I would suspect that the variation to be fairly small, but there would be a golden distance for the PJ.