Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Not exactly HDTV, but it is OTA. Simple question, simple answer:

Since virtually every TV antenna I've seen since I was a child (except for rabbit ears) has its elements arranged horizontally, implying that virtually all transmitter towers antennas have horizontal polarization - is this correct?

The reason I ask is that I just received the Silver Sensor UHF antenna I ordered (now if my STB would ever arrive), and its instructions show that you can mount the elements either horizontally or vertically, depending on which method your favorite stations use. Since it's manufactured in the UK, I'm assuming that both polarizations are in use over there.

I'm an electrical engineer, but it's been almost 20 years since I had any antenna theory (probably a single chapter). Anyone care to shed some light? What are the advantages of each polarization method? I'm assuming that horizontal polarization allows better signal gain per unit of transmit power, but what in instances would vertical be better? Highly dense, multi-story urban city dwellings (like NY, Chicago, etc.)?

Just don't tell BU I asked. This has absolutely nothing to do with COFDM vs. 8VSB!

[This message has been edited by jonlgauthier (edited 04-05-2001).]

·
Registered
6,801 Posts
Neither polorization has more gain that the other. The main differences are that most noise is vertically polorized, so you can substantially reduce noise by using horizontal. The main uses for vertical (mainly FM broadcast stations which use dual polarity) is that most mobile receivers have vertically polorized antennas. Some TV stations may also use dual polorization. You would have to ask the station engineer.

Since bouncing off an object (building/mountain/etc) can cause a skew in the polarity, you may find in an urban setting, that one polarity works better than the other, irregardless of the transmitters polarity.