Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi list,

Went down to local Sears and purchased the PT-50LC13 today. It should arrive this Sunday. I'm super excited about this as it will be my first larger-than-27" tv.

1.) I was hoping someone could recommend a dvd player that will show off the true potential of this dvd in terms of pq. If I can get it for under $300 all the better. I've read about the Panasonic XP30 and the Denon 1600, but both seem somewhat difficult to get. I'm hoping that there's another model out there that will do the LCD justice.

2.) Also, can someone also recommend which component cables to purchase? I've read a few posts about people purchasing from bluejeanscables.com, but I'm not sure which set of cables to get. I'm still new to all of this and just feeling my way around.

3.) Finally, how about a DVD to show it off? I'm about to visit the dvd forums right now, but figured I'd ask that here as well.

Thanks much, I can't wait :)

·
Registered
845 Posts
Samsung 931, you can always return it.

What you really needed is a HD receiver.

Target (GE) and Wal-mart (RCA) have good component cable for under $20.

DVDs:

Lord of the Rings TT

Spirted Away

any of the CGI movies

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the info. Is the HD receiver dependent on the type of service you subscribe to? Meaning, do some hd receivers work better with some cable companies than others? I'm deciding between Aldelphia and Direct TV right now.

·
Registered
256 Posts
1) Make sure it has progressive scan

(Onkyo and Denon make some good receivers and dvd players)

2) The best cables for anything are Monster Cables

3) Depends on the audience. Kids? Monster Inc. Toy Story Adults? Matrix. Spiderman. The Patriot :)

·
Registered
13,602 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by wynn