AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 103 Posts

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I purchased both the Ascend Sierra 2EX (with RAAL tweeter) and the Buchardt S400 with the intent of ultimately keeping one, and recently got everything hooked up. In my inaugural (casual) listening test, I was very surprised at how similar the two speakers sounded! The Buchardts were ever so slightly more efficient, achieving 78 dB on my AVR's volume level of 25, while the Sierra 2EX hit 77 dB (matched using pink noise).

If I really strained to notice a difference, I found on certain tracks the Buchardt's lower midrange was a bit fuller, whereas the Sierra's sounded comparatively leaner (but cleaner). I did not find one objectively better than or worse than the other, simply a difference in characteristic.

Puzzled, I took measurements using a UMIK-1 out of an iPad running AudioTools. Each graph is C-weighted average of 3 sweeps:

I'll admit this is my first time using AudioTools so if there's a better setup/process just let me know and I'll retake them. I see most people's graphs have a nice, smooth trend line (REW thing?) which I was not able to achieve.

Edit: Measured with REW following the instructions here. Measured each channel independently and then averaged within REW. Mic's position was vertical:

Back to the speakers' similarity, this would seem to make sense right? If both companies aim to make neutral, transparent speakers then they should naturally converge.

Next up will be some blind tests with willing (and unwilling) participants. Any suggestions on procedure and/or best practices welcome!

·
Registered
46 Posts
I'll be demoing both in the coming weeks so I'm interested in your opinions. Couple of questions on your setup:

What are the characteristics of the room in which you're testing them?

What are you driving them with?

What is your speaker use-case - music, home theater or some mix of the two?

Thanks.

·
Registered
1,887 Posts