AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
having 2 displays in a 10'x20' livingroom is making me crazy, i need to get a display, right now im running my pc media through a 20' refurbished dell set along one side of room 10', but watching tv/dvd on a 27" philips tube along other side 20', want to consolidate and go big, whats the best display for ht/htpc/5.1 channel setup/diy speakers, looking for the best bang for the buck (im a student) don't want to loose my eyesight, oh yeah setup is np because im single so anything goes

barton 2500

asus a7n8x

1 gig corsair

powercolor 256bit 9800se softmod

a4 tech wireless key/mouse

denon dvd 1600

denon avr 1603

pe's mtm/dayton surround

·
Registered
911 Posts
Have you considered front projection?

·
Registered
602 Posts
Here's what I did for under 1600 bucks, and yes I'm also a student so money is tight.

I use the computer I built about 2 years ago, which is a xp2200 with 1gb ram, geforce4 ti4200, and sb audigy platinum as my "home theater/gaming/word processing/internet browsing/anything else you can do with a computer" machine.

I didn't have the money to have a dedicated HTPC aside from my PC so I just made do. I don't have a reciever, I just run analog 5.1 speakers by logitech, z5300's; all in all it sounds pretty good. I run dvd's off my computer to my X1 onto a 120 inch diy screen. I also have my cable tv audio piped through my computer's audio system which is also displayed on my X1. I have an avocent kvm switch doing the switching for me.

My setup is not high dollar, but it shows that you can have a pretty damn decent setup on a seriously tight budget. Everyone who has seen this setup thinks I've spent 5k on it. LOL It can be done on a budget, trust me.

The key is to shop around online for good deals, they can be had. I would get a pJ if i were you, its the most bang for the buck and can be done cheaply.

·
Banned
20,735 Posts