Not open for further replies.
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
501 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there,

I'm new to this great forum.

I'll soon be purchasing a Pioneer PDP-5080HD 720P. Being that you need a 1080p HDTV to take full advantage of Blu-Ray, would I be wasting my money by purchasing a Blu-Ray? Will the Blu-Ray picture on this 720p look much better than say broadcast HD or an upconvert DVD player. If it would look better, would it look 10%, 25%, 50% better? Thanks much

·
Registered
34 Posts
I have a Pioneer 5070HD. Also 720p. You absolutely do not need an 1080p tv to appreciate Blu-Ray. The difference between a DVD and a BD is incredible. I used to think that the DVD Superbit edition of "The Fifth Element" looked really good but it looks pathetic next to the remastered BD version.

I haven't seen broadcast HD (there is almost none available in Sweden) but in general I would describe the difference between a DVD and a BD like this: You know all the noise, smudges and compression artifacts present on practically all DVDs if you look for them? They are gone!

You would be wasting your new tv if you stay with DVDs.

·
Registered
1,026 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by burnsalkire /forum/post/13001424

Hey there,

I'm new to this great forum.

I'll soon be purchasing a Pioneer PDP-5080HD 720P. Being that you need a 1080p HDTV to take full advantage of Blu-Ray, would I be wasting my money by purchasing a Blu-Ray? Will the Blu-Ray picture on this 720p look much better than say broadcast HD or an upconvert DVD player. If it would look better, would it look 10%, 25%, 50% better? Thanks much