AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Yes, I am a complete noob to the whole building a PC thing, but I have done my reading and research, and know my way around a computer pretty well...but I cannot figure out this problem. Any help or advice would be appreciated.

I hope/assume this problem is related to the fact that I bought an OEM SATA II hard drive, and it needs some sort of pre-install preparation of which I am unaware. My BIOS recognizes the drive, but when I try to install Windows Vista (64-bit), it tells me that it doesn't see a drive. Some forums seem to think that I need to download a driver somehow, though hard drive drivers don't appear to be available on Hitachi's site or for any other hard drive manufacturer, as they claim windows contains drivers for all hard drives. Other forums seem to think that because I bought an OEM hard drive, the problem is due to the fact that it is not formatted or somehow other prepared pre-install. If this is the solution I have another problem, as I don't have another computer into which to plug the drive for reformatting. I thought the BIOS would automatically pick up the drive and format it though? Is this not so?

Also of note is the fact that if I turn on the PC and let it run through the Gigabyte motherboard's splash screen (or hit Tab to go to "POST," it briefly displays the screen I'm expecting to see for a split second, then goes immediately into listing all the devices plugged into the motherboard, then hangs at "Verifying DMI data" or something like that. Then I have to to turn it off and restart to get it to do anything.

I have flashed the BIOS and cleared the CMOS. Neither have helped.

I have tried changing about every setting in the BIOS short of using RAID or AHCI.

Does anyone have any advice or ideas? Sorry for the long winded question.

Apevia X-Master Case w/ built-in power supply

GIGABYTE GA-MA78G-DS3HP motherboard

AMD 5050e CPU