AVS Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm in the planning stages of building a home with a semi-custom home builder and I need a sanity check before a take the plunge.

Attached is the layout of the first floor. I want to use the gameroom in the back as a HT room. According to http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1112099 the dimensions (20'1"x12'11"x8') are pretty good. Right? Would 7.1 work well in this room?

I can have the ceilings vaulted in the room for a reasonable price, but I'm assuming that'd bad for a HT? I can also raise the ceiling to 9' for a price, but my guess is that isn't needed.

I plan to use the small closet as an AV closet and put a vent between it and the bathroom for ventilation, keeping the HT room quiet.

Any suggestions are very appreciated. Thanks!

-Rob

·
Registered
57 Posts
I am by no means a pro,..yet,haha, but from the months of lurking and researching for my own little DHT ,my guess is the Pro's here will tell you that is a great size,they will probably say go for the 9' ceiling mainly for decor ,tray ceilings and star fields and such
.And as for the 7.1 if the back row isn't up against the back wall(unless it's just overflow seating) ,from what I've read,you should be good to go

(now Que the HT Wizards here to tell you not to listen to that guy cus he's talkin' outa his a$$,haha)

·
RETIRED theater builder
35,426 Posts
That size can work pretty well for a basic theater. However if you had your heart set on using 2-3 ft behind an Acoustically transparent screen for you speakers together with two rows of fully reclining HT seating it will be a tight pinch. As is if you set the back for your first row chair at 12 ft from the screen that gives you just enough space to position the back row 18 inches in front of the back wall. That gives the rear surrounds some space to work for the back row.