AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently decided I'm gonna build myself an HTPC that's fully capable of recording and outputting 1080p video and the accompanying audio.

I'm not a complete noob to building a computer but this is gonna be my first build from the ground up.

I've done a fair bit of research over the past few days and I think I've got everything figured out. I've got a list of most everything I'm gonna need but I would appreciate it if everybody just gave it a quick once over and let me know if there's gonna be any obvious hardware conflicts or I'm forgetting something.

Hardware -

Silverstone Black Aluminum HTPC Case

Corsair 450W Power Supply

Gigabyte AM3 AMD 770 ATX Motherboard

AMD Phenom II X4 3GHz Quad-Core Processor

G.Skill 4GB (2x2GB) Memory

Western Digital 1TB Hard Drives

I'm going to start with three of these.

LG BD/HD-DVD/DVD Drive

As I'm sure most of you know HD-DVDs can be had for dirt cheap.

Gigabyte Radeon HD 4550 Video Card

D-Link Wireless Network Adapter

Logitech diNovo Wireless Keyboard & Integrated Mouse

Software -

Windows XP Pro

MediaPortal

DVDFab

PowerDVD

CapDVHS

I plan on outputting audio over an optical out to my receiver and video over HDMI to my TV.

I'm also planning on using this HTPC as a DVR. My cable box (Scientific Atlantic 4250HD) has a firewire out which I'm planning on using for that.

Again, if anybody has any input on this system, I'd really like to hear it.

TIA

·
Registered
261 Posts
Will you be gaming on this? If not, some of your components are unnecessarily powerful. You don't need much juice to stream 1080p content. Also, if you are going to invest in a sound card, you may want to go with this: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16829132012

It allows for Dolby TrueHD over HDMI, that is, if your receiver can handle it. If so, it will enhance your Bluray experience.

Also, your CPU link goes to your motherboard.

·
Registered