Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there,

I'm a noob here to AVS but have been into home theater for years. I'm designing a theater in the small warehouse here at my company and wanted to get some suggestions on what the audio setup should be. Up until now my experience with audio has either been with small room hi-fi stereo (home system has NHT speakers, Rotel and Adcom components) or large space high output PA/DJ systems with a mixer and self-powered speakers. But what about the in between? Our warehouse (small for a warehouse) is 40' long, 24' wide, and 20' tall. If we want to watch movies and give presentations in a space this size, what kind of an audio system should we be thinking of? For example, what kind of audio system does a really small independent movie theatre have? I guess the big decision would be whether to go with self-powered speakers or separately amplified speakers. Our budget needs to stay under $5000 (not including projector and screen). Any advice would be really helpful.

thanks!

tranzlucent

·
Registered
3,854 Posts
Well, the speaker decision rests heavily on how far the seating will be from the screen. If it’s 10-15 ft then that will rule out PA speakers, since they usually don’t get their full dispersion that close.

If you use highly efficient speakers like Klipsch you might get away with using the built-in amps of a good-quality receiver. The Heresy and LaScala are good models for a situation like this – I’ve even seen them used as PA speakers.

You might want to audition a pair or Heresy’s in the warehouse before you plunk your money down. What I see as a potential problem in a room this big is is getting enough bass from the mains to blend with the sub. If the Heresy’s seem bass shy, you might move up to La Scala’s for the L/R and use the Heresy’s for center and surrounds.