Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
NEWBIE here :eek:

Been lurking for a few months on this site gathering info.

Great site BTW. :D

Picture Quality is very important to me, why else would you buy a TV ???

I love the look of CRT RPTV in the dark with a well calibrated TV.

However, I need a TV for a 12' x 17' room that is well lit with huge glass patio doors. The TV will sit in the corner on an angle (my Toshiba 30" Cinema Series sits there now). I have so-called Digital (Analog) cable with Charter Communications.

Viewing distance will be 9' - 12', slight angle.

My viewing habits: 50% analog cable, 25% Nintendo Gamecube (kids) and 25% DVD.

I've decided to go with either LCD or DLP (leaning towards this).

I am looking for approx 53" under $5,000.

I've noticed a thread here about the 2004 CES and new Chips coming out this JUNE?

Will this Chip be far "SUPERIOR" to the current chip, or just slighty better?

Should I wait until next Christmas and buy the "NEW" chip, or Buy NOW?

I will assume that by waiting I will pay more $$$ for the new sets with the new chip, any idea how much more?

Thanks in advance

Mac

·
Registered
247 Posts
If you wait till then the 2005 ces will be right aroudn the corner and new models... it's and endless cycle.

I got a GWIII 50 incher and couldn't be happier. I love my tv and wouldn't give it up for anything. I honestly can't see how it can improve next year.

My vote, take the plunge and be happy on a kickass tv no matter what you get dlp or lcd.

·
Registered
93 Posts