AVS Forum banner

61 - 80 of 124 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,234 Posts
Hi, this issue has been resolved with CalMAN 2017 R2 5.8.2a Build: 85 (Official Release: December 18, 2017), are you using that version?

Resolved Issues

Resolved issue that would cause CalMAN to not properly display the C6 HDR2000 label on the meter tab with some installers.
Yes. I am on that exact build.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,575 Posts
Yes. I am on that exact build.

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
Ok, so it's not resolved completely, contact SpectraCAL to report it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
30 Posts
Appears to have not come with a braided cable anymore. Might have not done the upgrade if I would have known that. The light diffuser now sort of slides back to click in so it's a little more secure so thats a improvement. Oh well. We can get started on my friends LG OLEDs now.



Is there anyway to tell what version of the C6 I have? I purchased a "used" C6 off eBay that was stated as Spectracal C6, but when I received it, it was clearly unused and looks exactly the same as the picture posted above. Unbraided cable, and the diffuser that requires a "click" to close.


Also, while calibrating my Z9D, it was reading luminance levels of 1600 nits, so I'm now wondering if I actually purchased the C6 HDR 2000 version.


thanks for any tips!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,234 Posts
Is there anyway to tell what version of the C6 I have? I purchased a "used" C6 off eBay that was stated as Spectracal C6, but when I received it, it was clearly unused and looks exactly the same as the picture posted above. Unbraided cable, and the diffuser that requires a "click" to close.


Also, while calibrating my Z9D, it was reading luminance levels of 1600 nits, so I'm now wondering if I actually purchased the C6 HDR 2000 version.


thanks for any tips!
Calman will list it as an HDR2000. Also the C6 is basically just a licensed i1 Display pro. The 2017 i1 or later are rated to be accurate up to 2000nits. It can still report higher readings and varies from unit to unit, but there is no guaranty it will be accurate above the rating. The date and model are also listed on the weight. It would be labeled as HDR2000 if it is one.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9,575 Posts
Is there anyway to tell what version of the C6 I have? I purchased a "used" C6 off eBay that was stated as Spectracal C6, but when I received it, it was clearly unused and looks exactly the same as the picture posted above. Unbraided cable, and the diffuser that requires a "click" to close.

Also, while calibrating my Z9D, it was reading luminance levels of 1600 nits, so I'm now wondering if I actually purchased the C6 HDR 2000 version.

thanks for any tips!
Hi,

You can see it looking the sticker attached to the counterweight of your meter.



Custom Branded X-Rite i1Display PRO OEM versions like SpectraCAL's C6, C6-HDR, or C6-HDR2000 instruments serial number have the following format:

SP-yy.r-02.xxxxxx.mm

(SP = SpectraCAL version, yy = short year manufactured, r-02 = hardware revision (A or B) - firmware version (02), xxxxxx = incremental number, mm = month manufactured.

If you see yy = 17, means that its C6HDR2000.

The 2000nits capability is something verified from X-Rite, just SpectraCAL is testing C6HDR2000 meter using a monitor with a peak output between 100-150 nits and provide a certification report paper (you can see the nits level its been performed that test to that paper, and the date).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
30 Posts
Hi,

You can see it looking the sticker attached to the counterweight of your meter.



Custom Branded X-Rite i1Display PRO OEM versions like SpectraCAL's C6, C6-HDR, or C6-HDR2000 instruments serial number have the following format:

SP-yy.r-02.xxxxxx.mm

(SP = SpectraCAL version, yy = short year manufactured, r-02 = hardware revision (A or B) - firmware version (02), xxxxxx = incremental number, mm = month manufactured.

If you see yy = 17, means that its C6HDR2000.

The 2000nits capability is something verified from X-Rite, just SpectraCAL is testing C6HDR2000 meter using a monitor with a peak output between 100-150 nits and provide a certification report paper (you can see the nits level its been performed that test to that paper, and the date).
Wow, thank you for the very detailed response! That is very helpful. My weight label has the manufacture date of 2017 rev B. The serial yy = 17, so looks like I got the C6HDR2000 for basically less than $200 brand new..... :eek:
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
857 Posts
Hi all,

I'm thinking of purchasing this for an AutoCal (and I'm a newbie, so patience is appreciated) and have a few questions before I make the jump:

1.) I watched a how-to video and have seen some discussion of "meter profiling" where you compare the meter with a spectrophotometers to get more accuracy (although most of what I've seen have been on cheaper models than this). Is this necessary or advisable with this model? I was hoping this was the only equipment I'd need.

2.) How long is it the NIST certification for and how often would it need sent in for recalibration? (I'd only plan to check display calibration every year or two.) Is there a lot of drift for these?

3.) Is there any preference on whether it's better to tripod mount vs. hang over the front of the screen? (The former would likely be easier for me).

Thanks for any help!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,234 Posts
Hi all,



I'm thinking of purchasing this for an AutoCal (and I'm a newbie, so patience is appreciated) and have a few questions before I make the jump:



1.) I watched a how-to video and have seen some discussion of "meter profiling" where you compare the meter with a spectrophotometers to get more accuracy (although most of what I've seen have been on cheaper models than this). Is this necessary or advisable with this model? I was hoping this was the only equipment I'd need.



2.) How long is it the NIST certification for and how often would it need sent in for recalibration? (I'd only plan to check display calibration every year or two.) Is there a lot of drift for these?



3.) Is there any preference on whether it's better to tripod mount vs. hang over the front of the screen? (The former would likely be easier for me).



Thanks for any help!
1. The C6 HDR2000 is just an i1Display Pro with Spectracal's custom profiles. A meter profile isn't "required" in order to get started calibrating, but if you want the best possible accuracy, then I would recommend it. The good news is you don't have to buy a spectro. You can contact a local ISF calibrator and get a pricing on a profile. They will use their commercial grade spectro($5,000+) for the profiling. The only downside to this is the profile will only be useful on the display unit the profile was created for. If you intend on calibrating numerous displays you may want to invest in a spectro. The best value consumer spectro is an i1 Pro 2.

2. 1 year usually. Recertification isn't necessarily needed every year. If you take care of the meter by not hitting/dropping it and stored properly, then it can possibly stay accurate for many years. Recertification is something professionals do regularly to ensure they are doing their job properly.

3. It all depends on the situation. @ConnecTEDDD can help answer that.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
857 Posts
Thanks much for the info. Re #1 , I'm in a location without many ISF calibrators around here, so I'm not sure how viable that would be (I would assume they'd have to do *my* display, not just one of that same model). Since my display supports AutoCal, maybe the Spectracal profile built-in would be enough if I did go with the C6?

Appreciate the recertification info too.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,232 Posts
The C6 (any version) is just an iOEM i1D3 in drag.
Nothing different.

The Calman profiles are not built into the probe - they reside within Calman.
If you use a C6 with other software you will see the presets that software uses, not Calman's.
The presets provided by other systems are just as accurate for the display technologies they are supplied for.

Using a spectro on your specific display is the best way to gain true accuracy.
It means the response of your actual display is taken into account.

For any i1D3, recertification is a not viable, as all you can do is measure to see if the probe has drifted.
You cannot 'correct' any drift, other than by using a spectro to build your own corrections.

Steve
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
857 Posts
The C6 (any version) is just an iOEM i1D3 in drag.
Nothing different.

The Calman profiles are not built into the probe - they reside within Calman.
If you use a C6 with other software you will see the presets that software uses, not Calman's.
The presets provided by other systems are just as accurate for the display technologies they are supplied for.

Using a spectro on your specific display is the best way to gain true accuracy.
It means the response of your actual display is taken into account.

For any i1D3, recertification is a not viable, as all you can do is measure to see if the probe has drifted.
You cannot 'correct' any drift, other than by using a spectro to build your own corrections.

Steve
Interesting - thanks much!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
59 Posts
There is no filter, it is a new hardware revision from our manufacturing partner, X-rite.
WiFI, is this true, when my C6 2000 gets out of compliance it cant be fixed? I just sent mine back for re-certification, but nothing is fixed if I have errors?


The C6 (any version) is just an iOEM i1D3 in drag.
Nothing different.

The Calman profiles are not built into the probe - they reside within Calman.
If you use a C6 with other software you will see the presets that software uses, not Calman's.
The presets provided by other systems are just as accurate for the display technologies they are supplied for.

Using a spectro on your specific display is the best way to gain true accuracy.
It means the response of your actual display is taken into account.

For any i1D3, recertification is a not viable, as all you can do is measure to see if the probe has drifted.
You cannot 'correct' any drift, other than by using a spectro to build your own corrections.

Steve
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,397 Posts
WiFI, is this true, when my C6 2000 gets out of compliance it cant be fixed? I just sent mine back for re-certification, but nothing is fixed if I have errors?


We re-certify it in our color lab against our Photo Research PR-740. If it passes the test we provide a one year NIST certification.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
151 Posts
We re-certify it in our color lab against our Photo Research PR-740. If it passes the test we provide a one year NIST certification.
Is there a link or a address on how or where we send in our C6's to get recertify?

I have to send mine in December for recertification. Thanks.
 
61 - 80 of 124 Posts
Top