AVS Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi newbie here!

I'm having interference/artifacts/blocks with my Cable STB output. The weird thing is, it only occurs whenever I use my Plasma TV (connected via HDMI).

I tried using an LCD TV and the problem does not persist at all. Also tried turning on the plasma while the STB is connected to the LCD and the image is clear. It seems its isolated with HDMI.

Any opinions on what's causing the issue? I'm quite stumped at this point. Tried changing cables, even a ferrite core on the power cord and hdmi cable, but the problem still persists. By the way, my TV is a Samsung PS43F4900 Plasma.

I'll try using a coax cable but I'm not getting my hopes up.

Thanks in advanced

·
Premium Member
Bedroom: 50-in 1080p LCD, XG1v4 (Ultra HD DVR for Comcast), BD Player; Office: 32-in LCD, etc.
2,447 Posts
Is the LCD TV about the same size as the plasma TV? I ask because some issues are harder to see on a small screen. It is also possible that the LCD is doing a better job compensating for various artifacts (often labeled something like "noise reduction" on various menus).

Have you tried adjusting the "noise reduction" setting on the plasma TV?

Have you tried setting the STB to 720p or 1080i and see if either of those two settings produce better results?

Also, are you comparing equivalent scenes? Macroblocking sometimes occurs when the majority of the screen changes at once, and I often see that when watching the Flash, or when Godzilla is sending out a stream of fire from his mouth across most of the screen. However, that is usually an encoding problem and would appear no matter what equipment one is using, though it would be more apparent on a larger and brighter screen.

Interference and artifacts will have to be better described for someone to be able to comment about that.