AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok, ive searched and searched....and no matter what i cant get this thing just right.


I have a p4 2.5 with a g4 ti4400 dvi out to a 65" Sony KP65WS510 tv (HD). I have a problem with over scan, and everything could be a little clearer but the overscan and oversized windows is getting old. Is it possible or not to make this monitor work like a computer monitor? I downloaded and installed powerstrip, have the latest Nvidia drivers, and I have been fiddling with the service settings on the TV because i was reading a thread and they were talking about the MID4:3 settings. I couldnt find those on this TV, is there an equivalent? Theres like a million other items to mess with but i didnt find what i was looking for........anyone have their PC hooked up to this or similar model TV? Please help a brotha out here!! I just want this damn thing to work. Here is my monitor info if that will help....


Monitor

Manufacturer description.... SONY TV

Manufacturer................ Sony

———————————————————— ————————

Plug and Play ID............ SNY00F8

Serial number............... (n/a)

———————————————————— ————————

Manufacture date............ 2002

EDID revision............... 1.3

Display type and signal..... Digital

Sync input support.......... (n/a)

Screen size................. (n/a)

Power management............ Not supported


Color characteristics

Display gamma............... 2.20

Red chromaticity............ Rx 0.625 - Ry 0.340

Green chromaticity.......... Gx 0.280 - Gy 0.595

Blue chromaticity........... Bx 0.155 - By 0.070

White point (default)....... Wx 0.283 - Wy 0.298


Timing characteristics

VESA GTF support............ Not supported

Horizontal scan range....... 15-46kHz

Vertical scan range......... 59-61Hz

Video bandwidth............. 80MHz

Timing recommendation #1.... 1920x1080 at 30Hz

Modeline................ "1920x1080" 74.250 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1084 1094 1124 interlace +hsync +vsync

Timing recommendation #2.... 720x480 at 60Hz

Modeline................ "720x480" 27.000 720 736 798 858 480 489 495 525 -hsync -vsync


Standard timings supported

640 x 480 at 60Hz - IBM VGA

720 x 480 at 60Hz - Sony

1920 x 1080 at 30Hz - Sony


Raw EDID (1)

00: 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF 00 4D D9 F8 00 01 01 01 01

10: 00 0C 01 03 80 00 00 78 0A 0D C9 A0 57 47 98 27

20: 12 48 4C 20 00 00 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 01

30: 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 1D 80 18 71 1C 16 20 58 2C

40: 25 00 00 00 00 00 00 9E 8C 0A D0 8A 20 E0 2D 10

50: 10 3E 96 00 00 00 00 00 00 18 00 00 00 FC 00 53

60: 4F 4E 59 20 54 56 0A 20 20 20 20 20 00 00 00 FD

70: 00 3B 3D 0F 2E 08 00 0A 20 20 20 20 20 20 01 02


Display adapter

Adapter description......... NVIDIA GeForce4 Ti 4400

Adapter device ID........... 0x025110DE

Display settings............ 960x540, 32bpp


User/computer information

Registered user name........ na

Registered organization..... home

Network user name........... dad

Network computer name....... HOME-HWI50KOV8Z

Windows version ............ Windows XP

Windows build .............. 5.01.2600

Installation date .......... 1/18/2103 4:34:56 AM
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
334 Posts
Okay, okay calm down, take a deep breath. :)


Now, I'm not an expert, but I may be able to help a little. First, did you read Karnis's guide to Powerstrip settings? If not, here's a link:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...hreadid=206854


The next thing is that you weren't completely specific as to how the htpc is hooked up to the tv - please elaborate.


Also, what resolutions are you having trouble with? It looks to me like you're trying to run 960x540p, is that right? I will say that on my Mits 55", 960x540 has a lot of overscan & makes a desktop kind of a pain to navigate. You might want to try 856x480 @ 540 timings (per Karnis's guide, linked above) for a better fitting desktop. I use 1920x1080i for DVD playback - not sure if the GF cards are supporting interlaced, though (they weren't when I had a GF card in my htpc).


The next thing is that if you have a lot of trouble with custom resolutions, such as getting the display adapter to accept them, you may want to try a Radeon card. I went round & round with my Ti4200 & couldn't get what I wanted until I bit the bullet & got a Radeon 9600. Everything works as it should now. Might want to think about that as a last resort, though.


Hope that helps.
 
1 - 4 of 4 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top