AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Premium Member
14,931 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok so I was playing around with cutlist tonight and was trying to get the dimensions down right for the coaxial build that Im working on. my problem, Im not an engineer... haha

anyone that might want to assist me with getting the box dimensions correct, please help!!! I want a box with a slanted front baffle to allow a good angle down to the seating position and would love for some help to find the correct panel dimensions so I can plug them into cutlist and get started!!

the dimensions, using 3/4 inch auruco are as follows:

rear and top panels should have a 12x12 inch layout, tapering to an 8 inch bottom panel, and whatever size the front baffle needs to be to accommodate. the side panels will obviously be oddly shaped with the taper from 12 to 8 inches. there will also need to be a slightly longer rear panel than a straight 12x12 to allow for the angle cut necessary to flush it up with the front baffle (which will also need probably an extra 1/4 inch for the same purpose)

If this is too much to ask, ill go trial by error, my mind just doesnt think in these ways and trying to draw it up on paper has been futile so far.

thanks if anyone is willing to lend a hand.

also, considering the 3/4" depth of the ply, the front baffle would probably fit into the interior of the bottom/LR/top panels with the side panels, looking from outside the box, the sides that have no panels tapped on top but rather onto the sides of the panel. if that makes any sense

·
Registered
12,438 Posts
Why not just draw it to scale on paper?

·
Registered
21,345 Posts
lilmike, that looks like what he was talking about. once you master sketchup, how long does it take to create a simple picture such as the one that you posted above? just curious.

·
Registered
2,408 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by LTD02 /forum/post/20864728