AVS Forum banner

1 - 20 of 6051 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
494 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is a place to discuss using CalMAN Home for LG
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
494 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
When using CalMAN Home for LG can you modify the target White point?

D-Nice does not use standard D65 for our LG OLEDs and Technicolor Warm1 also uses a non standard White point. Can we set the Autocal target White point ourselves?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
494 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,243 Posts
In this document CalMAN Home for LG Walkthrough.



Step 8, is the only choice 'Matrix LUT' for the 3D LUT? Are other choices available?


Other choices are available. Matrix is the primary way to calibrate hdr. There are other means for sdr. The 3dlut has a drop down tab for other options that the walkthrough states are prebuilt.
And yes you can also set your own white point


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
36 Posts
I am sorry but I don't know anything about LUTs, or any of the terms used in these posts. But I do have a question if I may.

First, is there a FAQ where I can lookup my following questions?

1. I studied the CalMAN Home for LG Walkthrough. Is it correct that my xrite i1 display colorimeter (that I use for my computer display) will work?

2. The specifications tab states that calman will work in "in VMWare Fusion® and Bootcamp® for Mac OS X® users"
But will that work satisfactorily with the USB connection? I know it's a specific matter that not many will encounter but I need to know before hand because I will need to order a VMware + windows license that I cannot return.

3. Regarding the pattern generator: I noticed that 2019 models have a pattern generator built into the TV unit. The separately sold pattern generator is $1500, which is about the cost of the 55 C8. Would you say it's wise to pick the 2019 C9 model over the C8 for this reason alone?

4. Can the calibration process for the C8 be completed without the pattern generator? I may not use HDR anyway. Or am I mixing things up?

Thanks a bunch.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,243 Posts
I am sorry but I don't know anything about LUTs, or any of the terms used in these posts. But I do have a question if I may.



First, is there a FAQ where I can lookup my following questions?



1. I studied the CalMAN Home for LG Walkthrough. Is it correct that my xrite i1 display colorimeter (that I use for my computer display) will work?



2. The specifications tab states that calman will work in "in VMWare Fusion and Bootcamp for Mac OS X users"

But will that work satisfactorily with the USB connection? I know it's a specific matter that not many will encounter but I need to know before hand because I will need to order a VMware + windows license that I cannot return.



3. Regarding the pattern generator: I noticed that 2019 models have a pattern generator built into the TV unit. The separately sold pattern generator is $1500, which is about the cost of the 55 C8. Would you say it's wise to pick the 2019 C9 model over the C8 for this reason alone?



4. Can the calibration process for the C8 be completed without the pattern generator? I may not use HDR anyway. Or am I mixing things up?



Thanks a bunch.


1) Yes you can use an x-rite meter.
2) I would imagine the usb wouldn't be an issue
3) That will depend on your preference. If you've got the money to spend might as well get the c9 for the newer features. There are alternative pattern generators that are cheaper, but will only work for sdr material. I use raspberry pi that I flashed with a generator program. You can also use an amazon fire stick.
4) there is an internal pattern generator in calman, but your computer has to be able to output signal bit perfect, and again can only do sdr.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
14 Posts
I am recording tutorial videos for CalMAN Home for LG this week. It will probably take a week after that to do all the post production.

I will be covering calibrating SDR/HDR/Dolby Vision on a 2019 LG C9.
Will the 2018 LG be covered in that video as well?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
59 Posts
I am recording tutorial videos for CalMAN Home for LG this week. It will probably take a week after that to do all the post production.

I will be covering calibrating SDR/HDR/Dolby Vision on a 2019 LG C9.
Tyler, I recently purchased the LG workflow and I have a couple questions.

1. Why after a 3D LUT do you guys now recommend the option of changing the contrast and the black level after the 3D LUT. I was always under the impression not to touch those controls after the LUT?

2. when doing the 3D lut point, do we still reduce the intervals of the patches to 10 or leave at the default of 45 which is higher than the enthusiast version of 30?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,737 Posts
Tyler, I recently purchased the LG workflow and I have a couple questions.



1. Why after a 3D LUT do you guys now recommend the option of changing the contrast and the black level after the 3D LUT. I was always under the impression not to touch those controls after the LUT?



2. when doing the 3D lut point, do we still reduce the intervals of the patches to 10 or leave at the default of 45 which is higher than the enthusiast version of 30?


1. That step in the workflow is really more for validation of your luminance And for you to be able to check brightness and contrast after.


2. Smaller interval pattern insertion should provide slightly better results.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,243 Posts
1. That step in the workflow is really more for validation of your luminance And for you to be able to check brightness and contrast after.


2. Smaller interval pattern insertion should provide slightly better results.


I'm not understanding the validation aspect especially towards brightness/contrast? If something didn't look right you can't rightfully change either setting without ruining the bypass setting correct?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
494 Posts
Discussion Starter · #13 · (Edited)
Did my first Autocal today. Went pretty well.

I was not sure why the program picked some of the values at the very bottom, but it was easy to correct.

@WiFi-Spy, what does the Unity LUT checkbox actually do in Step 8? There seems to be unresolved debate in other threads.

LeRoy
 
  • Like
Reactions: GetThePuckOut

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,473 Posts
Reposting here by request of @WiFi-Spy after initially posting in the main CalMAN thread. Sorry, I hadn't noticed a Home for LG thread had been opened.

I am running CalMAN Home for LG. This is my first foray into calibration myself, I have previously paid professionals to do it for me but the process fascinates me so I am eager to learn. I purchased the Home for LG version as it is reasonably priced and thought it may be a good place to start with its simplified workflows, and as I learn more then probably step up to the more advanced, professional version.

I currently own a 2017 series OLED (I will be purchasing a 2019 model in the next month or two), and have just a couple queries.



I have manually calibrated SDR and am very happy with the results (initial pro calibration drifted substantially after over 4000 hrs usage), and have also done HDR Cinema, just the 2 point grayscale based on jrref's advise/recommendation. So my first query was also, is there a way to manually calibrate Dolby Vision in just the Home version? I have a HDFury so if there is, then I am able to inject the DV metadata into the built in pattern window as per the 2017 LG/DV calibration thread on these forums. If not, are there any plans to add manual DV calibration in a future release?



Secondly, my meter is iDisplayPro (Retail). I am looking to purchase a Spectro to profile it, unfortunately here in the UK, they run a bit more expensive than on your side of the pond. I will purchase an i1Pro2 if I have to, but I note that Home is compatible with the X-Rite ColorMunki Spectro (Design and Photo). I haven't been able to find either of those for sale in the UK, and a Google search takes me to X-Rite's site which states there is now an upgraded version, the i1Studio. These are readily available here and is a lot cheaper than the i1Pro2. So my question is, would that device be compatible even though it is not on the supported list, and if so would it be accurate enough to profile my iDisplayPro as beginner in calibration, or do I just bite the bullet and buy an i1Pro2 now?



Thank you in advance for any information you can give.

Kind regards, Leon
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
59 Posts
Did my first Autocal today. Went pretty well.

I was not sure why the program picked some of the values at the very bottom, but it was easy to correct.

@WiFi-Spy, what does the Unity LUT checkbox actually do in Step 8? There seems to be unresolved debate in other threads.

LeRoy
I would like to know this too! Maybe Tyler will respond.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
141 Posts
Hi everyone
I just bought this for c9
I was able to add my TV once
Now Everytime I click on find TV
Put ip and the code.
The application just crashes
Support is useless since their mailbox is full
I'm very mad about this.
Hope someone can help

Thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4,737 Posts
Hi everyone

I just bought this for c9

I was able to add my TV once

Now Everytime I click on find TV

Put ip and the code.

The application just crashes

Support is useless since their mailbox is full

I'm very mad about this.

Hope someone can help



Thanks


Which build number are you running? We fixed a bug that was causing that crash.

The current build is 5.10.0.50
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
141 Posts
Which build number are you running? We fixed a bug that was causing that crash.

The current build is 5.10.0.50
I'm using that one.
I was able to get it to connect again by factory reset everything.
Is that a requirement Everytime?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
141 Posts
Hi everyone,
I'm looking to get help calibrate my c9 with calman home 2019
I calibrated hdr but I can't do dolby vision.
It turned out green after it was done.
It forced me to reset the TV.
Please guide me through It

Thanks
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,243 Posts
Hi everyone,

I'm looking to get help calibrate my c9 with calman home 2019

I calibrated hdr but I can't do dolby vision.

It turned out green after it was done.

It forced me to reset the TV.

Please guide me through It



Thanks


First foremost I would retry. If the meter had a delay wrong or read a wrong pattern that could be the case. There was a glitch in early autocal with the 2018 where everything would turn blue with hdr calibration


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
 
1 - 20 of 6051 Posts
Top