AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 50 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
CalMAN Entry Level Calibration Package

Vs

EyeOne Display 3 PRO with ChromaPure Standard


Both running the new eye one display 3


I know that these have been compared before. Since both are using the new eye one display 3 and have made some changes I was hoping to get the input of those using each as to, why they went with who they did, and what they think. I am trying to decide which one to go with. The cost difference is about $180.00 What's the good and bad of both and what are you all finding out? Not that it matter but I have a Samsung 64d7000


Thanks for the info
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
5,916 Posts
I recommend ChromaPure Standard with the new Display 3 Pro meter. The non-Pro meter will not be accurate with most LCD displays without profiling from a reference meter. ChromaPure is a straight forward calibration program with a logical sequence, easy to understand graphs in each module, and produces excellent reports. Also, support is free.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
3,587 Posts
Be careful if purchasing the meter and software from separate sources... some of the meters have multiple versions (same meter under the skin, but different identifiers in the firmware) and some of these meters may not work with various software calibration packages even though they are all essentially the same meter.


I think CalMAN has AT LEAST as many positives as ChromaPure. And the large number of CalMAN users and public support forums makes support issues fairly simple. I don't think many enthusiast users will have need for support, other than learning how to calibrate which can be done here via the Calibration For Dummies thread.


If you already have the meter, you'll need to find out from both Spectracal/CalMAN and Chromapure if the model you have (and where you got it) is supported by their software.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,352 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug Blackburn /forum/post/20862333


I think CalMAN has AT LEAST as many positives as ChromaPure.

Maybe more for professional calibrators since the program can be tailored to suit your needs. But for the beginner Chromapure is probably less confusing and more straightforward to use.


Used competently either program will render beautiful results.


As to support, I've never had an issue getting answers from Tom (even on a weekend!) and this forum is available as well.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,231 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geof /forum/post/20862498


Maybe more for professional calibrators since the program can be tailored to suit your needs. But for the beginner Chromapure is probably less confusing and more straightforward to use.

This might have been true in earlier versions of CalMAN, but CalMAN now has on screen help for every step along the way towards a calibration. They also have a tutorial (called Introduction) that explains all the screens and how they work throughout CalMAN. The Standard workflow explains every step. I don't see how they could make it any easier. IMO, if you can't follow these simple workflows with the help included in the program, maybe you shouldn't try calibrating. Even if you do get confused, the SpectraCal support forum is monitored by several SpectraCal employees as well as many other users who can answer your questions.


I don't mean to denigrate Chromapure, just defending CalMAN. I don't know much about Chromapure as I don't use it since it doesn't support a couple of my meters. I'm sure it is a great program.


Bob
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,842 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Citation4444 /forum/post/20862737


This might have been true in earlier versions of CalMAN, but CalMAN now has on screen help for every step along the way towards a calibration. They also have a tutorial (called Introduction) that explains all the screens and how they work throughout CalMAN. The Standard workflow explains every step. I don't see how they could make it any easier.

FYI, ChromaPure also has VERY extensive on screen help for every step from pre-calibration to post-calibration.


Just in case there's any misunderstanding...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2,121 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Geof /forum/post/20862498


Maybe more for professional calibrators since the program can be tailored to suit your needs. But for the beginner Chromapure is probably less confusing and more straightforward to use.


Used competently either program will render beautiful results.


As to support, I've never had an issue getting answers from Tom (even on a weekend!) and this forum is available as well.

I agree. Chromapure is easy to use right out of the "box".
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
6,352 Posts
Last I looked there were real and significant differences between CP and Calman licensing terms. As a result I bought CP and although I have not followed licensing changes between the two since my purchase it may still be beneficial to understand the licensing differences.


FWIW, I would not let the lack of a CP user forum dissuade me: I've had NO support issues with Chromapure.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
So i know the Pro version of CP means the equipment has been adjusted more so then the standard from my understanding. This making it more accurate.


Is the calmans also adjusted or is it just as the standard version of cp?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,056 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by robkiller
So i know the Pro version of CP means the equipment has been adjusted more so then the standard from my understanding. This making it more accurate.


Is the calmans also adjusted or is it just as the standard version of cp?
Which hardware are you referring to?


We do offer enhanced or recalibrated models of many different pieces of hardware.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
137 Posts
I am a Calman user and find the system very easy to use although it looked daunting at first. Can't get my head round the create workflow feature though.


The autocal is substantially cheaper in CP and given I want this to get me 'most of the way there' I will be getting CP shortly.


I suspect Calman are watching very closely about the implentation of AC in CP and they may have to consider changing strategy to accomodate AC in the lower versions not just the commercial.


Competition, inevitable and good for the customer in my view
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
254 Posts
I am quite frustrated with SpectraCal at the moment. I prefer to stick with them because I own and am familiar with their software and I won't have to re-buy equivalent (for my needs) software. I want to upgrade my old enhanced (i.e. calibration tables) Spyder 3 that I got from SpectraCal but they offer me only two choices. Either get the Display3 OEM without calibration tables or spend a significantly larger amount to get the C6. I will just assume that the C6 is superior to a calibrated Display3 but I don't need something that good. I just want to take advantage of the repeatability of the Display3 to increase the accuracy of calibrations. I want them to sell a calibrated Display3, like they used to do with the Spyder3 and ChromaPure does now with the "Pro" model.


I haven't jumped to CP yet because I still hold out hope that SC will sell me what I want after the C6 is finally shipping. However if they continue to offer only two choices, I may have to pick the third choice. Times must be good when a company actively shuns a segment of the market.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,056 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck Anstey /forum/post/20894000


I am quite frustrated with SpectraCal at the moment. I prefer to stick with them because I own and am familiar with their software and I won't have to re-buy equivalent (for my needs) software. I want to upgrade my old enhanced (i.e. calibration tables) Spyder 3 that I got from SpectraCal but they offer me only two choices. Either get the Display3 OEM without calibration tables or spend a significantly larger amount to get the C6. I will just assume that the C6 is superior to a calibrated Display3 but I don't need something that good. I just want to take advantage of the repeatability of the Display3 to increase the accuracy of calibrations. I want them to sell a calibrated Display3, like they used to do with the Spyder3 and ChromaPure does now with the "Pro" model.


I haven't jumped to CP yet because I still hold out hope that SC will sell me what I want after the C6 is finally shipping. However if they continue to offer only two choices, I may have to pick the third choice. Times must be good when a company actively shuns a segment of the market.

Our Display 3 does have correction tables, they are just the standard built in ones. Our Display 3 with correction tables is the C6. The C6 has some other goodies built in as well, weather those are things you place value on isn't something I can say, but others have seen the value in those extras.


Those extra's include a NIST certificate documenting the accuracy of the C6. The additional profiles that use the native XRite calibration techniques, which SpectraCal is the only vendor currently utilizing. A unique adaptive exposure mode that makes the meter perform at it's fastest modes when possible without giving up accuracy. The Tripod mount and carrying case. The NIST certificate, can be especially important for professionals as it's required for certain jobs.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
254 Posts
I'm not saying that some people, most likely only professionals, don't find value in the C6. However for the advanced home user who wants better than out of the box OEM accuracy, the C6 is more than twice the price and there is a less expensive alternative. Why not simply offer the OEM with correction tables (a "pro" model) created against a spectrophotometer for the common displays for an extra $125-$150 and let those who value the C6 above that buy the C6? Even faster speed, NIST certificate, and carrying case are more valuable to someone doing this outside the home than a home user like myself.


I'm just saying there is value in offering something between the OEM D3 and C6 and there is a segment of the market that wants it and at least one vendor provides it. I am asking for it to be two vendors.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,495 Posts
It appears to me that the speed advantage that the C6 has over the OEM version is partly due to Calman software crippling the performance of the OEM meter. For those who care, the speed of the OEM D3 appears to be much better with Chromapure.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
21,464 Posts
Sotti. Pure and simple direct question. What exactly does NIST certification of the C6 mean? Spectracal is calibrating Display 3s and placing the corrections in a memory in the C6. Does Spectracal use a Tristimulus meter or a Spectroradiometer to generate the tables for each C6? Does the certification of the C6 merely mean that whatever instruments Spectracal uses were calibrated by NIST? Most expensive Spectroradiometers and Tristimulus devices come with a NIST certification. I know the meters used by Chromapure are NIST certified. What exactly is different with Spectrcal's NIST certification of the C6?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7,056 Posts
When we generate the tables for C6 we use X-Rite's native software and our CS2000 spectrophotometer.


The NIST certificate is a validation that we have measured and calibrated the performance of a meter in our NIST certified lab. It documents the equipment used in the calibration process as well as the ambient conditions. So the chain of calibration is certified and traceable. This means you can prove the accuracy of the meter and the source.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
21,464 Posts
Thanks. So you are saying that NIST has certified your lab and that is where you measure and calibrate each C6 making its calibration NIST certified or traceable to NIST certification?


I really am not sure exactly what you mean. I thought that only the reference instrument would be NIST certified and then only if operated under certain environmental conditions obviously those conditions would have to be present when using the reference instrument to calibrate C6s.
 
1 - 20 of 50 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top