AVS Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone i'm a noob to this forum and also to the camcorder hobby

my wife is due in a few months and i would like a HD camcorder ..preferably flash or dual

I have an HDTV so i would like to take advantage of this.

I am hoping not to break the bank on this and am looking for spending 500-700 range...

i like to consider myself stable in terms of shooting but my wife doesn't think so ..so please recommend with this in mind...

Thanks for all the help in advance

·
Registered
1,560 Posts
The Canon AVCHD camcorders have excellent image quality and are reasonably priced.

HF100/HF10/HF11 (from last year)

and newer models...HF200/HF20/HFS100/HFS10... Also the HG20 and HG21 - although they use hard drive as internal memory.

Price range is from (refurbished HF100) $500 to $1250 (new HF S10)

The HF 100 and HF S100 are card only. all the rest are card plus flash memory internal.

You need to pick up some flash memory cards: SDHC: "Class 4 or higher"

Your pc needs to be at least dual core with hopefully 3 gigs of Ram. If it can't handle it you'll have to convert your files to something easier for your pc, like .mpeg2 or .wmv

In that case, you would save the original mts files for future use on a better pc.

If you are taking family videos, it is important to not leave the files on one hard drive. hard drives fail. you need to back up your files to data DVD's and other hard drive(s).

These file-based cams are not tapes - although you could buy a tape-based HD camcorder like the HV30 and save the tapes as an archive The HV30 takes regular miniDV tapes.

PC requirements are much lower for the HV30 than the HF camcorders,

too... You can find a refurbished one in your price range.

http://www.usa.canon.com/consumer/co...&modelid=16206

There other brands of camcorders...these are all I am familiar with.