AVS Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm doing a renovation and am starting from scratch.

Could I use in-ceiling angled speakers for all surround speakers (FL, FR, Ctr, RL, RR) without having to compromise too much (or maybe just FL, FR, RL, RR and use a sonos playbar or an under TV for the ctr speaker)?

It's for a family room with large flat panel as well as music, and the wife would prefer not to have visible speakers.

Considering these (but welcome suggestions):

HD-R65AIM

OSD Audio ICE870

Here's a couple of pics of what the soffits will look like:

·
Registered
4,096 Posts
Just to be clear I'm not the one whose advice you should be following since I have zero experience building home theaters.

With that being said I would only do that if I had no other options. Speakers are directional and are intended to be aimed at your ears. Plus I would think the sound waves bouncing off those windows even with curtains drawn might make for a bad effect.

But yes I think you could do it.

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRock3x8  /t/1468077/can-i-use-in-ceiling-speakers-in-a-perimeter-soffit#post_23201701

Just to be clear I'm not the one whose advice you should be following since I have zero experience building home theaters.

With that being said I would only do that if I had no other options. Speakers are directional and are intended to be aimed at your ears. Plus I would think the sound waves bouncing off those windows even with curtains drawn might make for a bad effect.

But yes I think you could do it.

Thanks for the help.

I'm not set on doing it, but my wife would like them.

If there were very small wall mounted speakers that sounded great and filled the room, she'd probably be okay with that. As you can see in the picture, we have kinda large speakers hanging from the walls now.

·
Registered
17 Posts