AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Pardon me if this is a really stupid question. I have no experience with separates.

I have a onkyo tx-ds989. The 989 had an issue with dolby digital 5.1 dropouts on a couple of comcast cable channels - fox and national geographic. If I switched to analog, the problem went away. I found a faq on the onkyo website that described my exact issue. But my receiver wasn't in the list.

I called Onkyo and they told me my problem could be fixed, authorized an out of warranty repair and gave me the location of a local authorized onkyo repair center. That was last November. Long story short, my receiver is in the shop again, this time for 3 weeks, it has been "repaired" several times. First ic's were replaced, then boards were ordered and then they went back to the receivers original ic's. The result of all this attention is I have a receiver that has NO audio. As I write this, the repair shop is trying to get onkyo to work with them. Onkyo say's that the repair shop ordered and installed the wrong components. Onkyo basically told me they are done and offered to sell me a refurb receiver with my receiver in trade. They are not giving any deal.

I'm just trying to figure out what to do. I've been looking thru the forum for days looking at receivers. And I thought maybe I should consider going with separates.

And if I did go with separates, I was wondering if I could use my 989 as the amplifier?

Right now, I have my comcast box hooked up to a boombox. And I can't use any of my other sources. So I am getting desperate to resolve my problem.

For receivers I've been looking at Harman Kardon's, Yamaha's, onkyo's and Cambridge Audio.

Onkyo's seem to have a rich set of features. But I see people are having a lot of issues with them.

And even though I love my onkyo, I am not so happy with my repair experience.