AVS Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm 99.9% sure I want the Canon HG10 camcorder, but I'm a bit concerned (and confused) after reading review after review and all the other 'info' out there about data transfer specifically about AVCHD. I'm a novice when it comes to camcorders and don't plan on doing any type of high level editing- if any editing at all.

My questions are simple:

1- Can I transfer my recordings to an external hard drive that I use for backup for my laptop?

2- A. (Assuming #1 is "yes") I'm looking to simply transfer the recordings to my computer/ext. hard drive and burn standard-def. DVD's for regular DVD players. Do I need special software to burn standard DVD's from my computer? (I only plan on doing some basic editing, if possible.)

B.(Assuming #1 is "yes") I'm not ready to purchase a blu-ray burner and/or player yet (too expensive at this point) but I figure in the future I will purchase those items so I can watch my home videos in HD. So, can I save the recordings to an external hard drive for the purpose of future high-def disc making?

C. Are the recordings I download from camera to computer (or external HD) the same data sets use to make either Standard Def. of High Def. DVD's? (Is the difference simply the compression used for standard def.?)

D. Since I don't plan on doing much editing and more concerned w/ putting the recordings on standard DVD at this time, is the software that comes w/ the hg10 good enough for my use?

3- I have a HP dv5000 computer w/ 2 GB RAM, OS XP, 1.8 GHz processor. Is this going to be adequate for what I intend to do w/ my recordings?

4- I have a VCR to DVD burner, too. Could I hook up the HG10 to that and burn directly to DVD w/o using my computer?

·
Registered
8 Posts
No! use the search engine! HG10 is AVCHD format it produces a file unknown to most standard editing and burning engines.