AVS Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently built an HTPC using a 780G motherboard and Windows 7 Release Candidate. It's connected via HDMI to a 720p Samsung plasma (HP-T5054), which has a native resolution of 1365x768. My problem is that this resolution isn't available as an option in either Windows or the ATI control panel. What's the solution? I've actually used HTPCs for years and am not a total novice, but this is the first time that I've had to deal with the dreaded resolution issue as the displays I used in the past had native resolutions that were widely supported. Is Powerstrip still used in these cases?

PS: What on earth is pixel format? Does it matter which I choose?

·
Registered
876 Posts
Are you using the onboard 3200 or do you have a dedicated card? I just checked my ATI resolutions (3870card) on a 780 board in XP and it has 1360x768 available. With my Windows 7 HTPC I have an Nvidia 8600GT and I can set it to 1360x768 (which it comes up with automatically from the LCD display). Are you sure your plasma is 1365x768? I have an older 42" 720p plasma and the native resolution is 1280x720. I always thought the 1365 was only on LCDs but could very well be wrong. The only reason I mentioned it is that your system will generally go with what your HDTV shows it.

·
Registered
16,749 Posts
Yes there are now several 720p Plasma and LCD models that have 1366x768 as their native resolotion. And most of these units will not accept 1360 or 1366x768 over DVI,

HDMI or component since 1366x768 is not an ATSC TV standard resolution. Most of thes sets wll accept 1360 or 1366x768 over PC VGA connection.

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·