AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been using a HTPC with a Projector for about 5 years. I currently have a Sanyo PLV-70 powered by a 2.4ghz desktop with a Radeon 9800Pro. The projector is fed using a VGA breakout (just due to the fact that I never bought a 40ft DVI cable to replace the VGA).

I have played with many different setups and programs over the last few years and have finally given up the good fight and have selected MCE2005 due to its ease of use.

I have recently started down the path to whole house a/v distribution (more on that in a later thread) and wanted to see how I might interact (without yet investing) with the system using a secondary monitor off of my video card so that I don't have to fire up the projector to select a album that is burned on the computer. The LCD I am using to test is the Dell 1901FD (19" FP Display). I will purchase a specific LCD for this purpose if I can work out the kinks.

So "The Kinks":

I have researched existing threads so as not to waste forum members time and have discovered I am definitely not alone. I have tried using clone, but we all know that the 1901FP is native 1280x1024 and the PLV-70 projector is 1366x768 rez and that XP doesn't support different resolutions using clone.

So let's try extended desktop. Not bad because we have separate resolutions but the displays don't mirror each other which is critical as I don't want to be in the business of shifting programs from one screen to the other.

Wow that didn't work, how about Ultramon's mirroring function? Not bad but doesn’t support (if I understand correctly) some of the hardware accelerations that are critical to a good picture.

I am willing to purchase a new video card (6600??) or a new secondary display (one that has native 1366x768 but doesn't cost $$$$) but I want ot be sure before I buy that it will do exactly what I want.