AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
641 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Have an installer coming out to take measurements and give me evil looks for the funky configuration I am throwing at them.... I wanted to know if you laid a pad under the carpet on the stage or just carpet. My hunch would be to skip the pad as I would rather have my spikes on the speaker stands and sub couple to the wood rather than float on the pad.

Any input would be great!

I am nearly ready for paint! I am sooooo looking forward to no more mudding and sanding!!!!

·
Registered
641 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
No takers? I could really use a bit of your expertise and experience on this one.

Thanks!

·
Registered
3,422 Posts
E,

I'm no expert,but i did pad under my riser,i have to say the sound in my room is awesome:)WAY WAY better then any movie theater iv ever been in.

id even say better then any regular living room set up with 100,000 in gear:)...the one thing that always bothered me about HT is the center channel at times was not real clear(hard to understand or hear)now forget it,the center is super clear and perfect.....

I'm rambling.a bit excited i guess....sorry:D

wait for other opinions,but for carpet+pad on the riser...

ts

·
Registered
3,337 Posts
I had a pad under mine as well.

I'm not sure it will make much difference acoustically (although, if your sub fire's down maybe it does).

I think the issue may be the way the carpet lays. If you don't have a pad, it might not lay quite properly due to the tack strip around the edge but nothing underneath the main field of carpet.

Your installer, I'm sure will know more. That's just the first thought I had.

Good luck with your room.

·
Registered
935 Posts