AVS Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
359 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hey Guys,

I've been hanging out here for several years, since I began planning and building my first dedicated home theater (The Underground) in my previous home. When my wife and I planned the build of our new home, I had it in my head to build out a more elaborate and larger home theater. I was the General Contractor for the new home, and ended up swinging the hammer on most of the construction (I installed all the hardwood floors, cabinets, tile, stone, trim, low voltage, carpet, built the back porch, and paint - not to mention a few other things). Anyway, as life has a way of breaking my plans, so until recently I couldn't get to building out the HT like I wanted.

Fast-forward a couple years as I finish projects in the new home. Now I'm ready and have started to build the theater, but realized I haven't been keeping track of my build on anything except my Facebook page. Figured I'd toss some of the updates on here so I had a place to document it regularly (well, as 'regular' as life will allow).

A few things about the build:
First, it's in the basement of our rural home in Louisville, KY. We live on 7.5 acres of beautiful land on the outskirts of Louisville - our home was designed to blend in with the countryside, and look as much like a 'ranch-house' as possible. While we enjoy aspects of the city life (I go to Chicago, San Francisco, Atlanta and Orlando frequently) we really enjoy living out in the country and having room for our four kids to roam. Two weeks after moving in, we had a hot-air balloon do an emergency landing in our driveway. That's the type of place where we live...

As such, we have a lot of natural/wood tones in the house (timber-frame beam design, cedar trim and doors, etc). We are continuing this design through the home theater as we build it.