AVS Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My basement theater area has canned lights x 8 controlled by four separate (connected - 4 way i guess you'd call it) switches around the basement area. Sorry, I'm a newb here. Currently one of these switches is a dimmer, and this has worked well for the area. Also, I have a pool table in the area and one light switch controls the pool table lights. It's a double switch, the other side controlling the canned lights. What is the cheapest solution to turn these lights into something I can control with a universal remote? Do I have to replace all of these panels to make any solution work? My universal remote is the harmony xbox remote. I would be willing to look into an upgrade if it fit in with an inepensive plan and move the xbox remote to a different room. I've been looking around and all of the solutions look very expensive. I don't want to control my whole house in the future - just these lights.

·
Registered
6,101 Posts
If you're looking for affordable DIY lighting control, research UPB, from various manufacturers such as Web Mountain, Pulseworx, Simply Automated, and HAI. Lots of options, do the homework.

·
Registered
75 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
The sarcasm is thick in the home automation area geesh!! I was just hoping that someone had a solution for one area that wouldn't cost me $400 -$500 bucks. Guess I asked the wrong question.

·
Registered
1,611 Posts
You can look into an inexpensive IR-based dimmer, but not sure about any being 4-way. Your local home improvement store should have some there for starters.

·
Registered
986 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by tekbud /forum/post/18224774

The sarcasm is thick in the home automation area geesh!! I was just hoping that someone had a solution for one area that wouldn't cost me $400 -$500 bucks. Guess I asked the wrong question.

Well you didn't say how much you consider to be cheap, you just said cheap.

·
Registered