AVS Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
392 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A new software upgrade for the PSM-1 is available according to Cinematrix's new web page:

http://www.cinematrix.de (German only)

The upgrade costs EURO 89.--.

I will send them my player (SONY 7700) tomorrow to be upgraded. Has anybody already had their player upgraded with this new software? What bugs have been fixed?

I have had my 7700 with the PSM-1 since October 2000. Is this the first upgrade that has been made available so far?

·
Registered
12 Posts
i am a newbie who is considering a cinematrix upgraded dvd to use with a dreamvision movie star plus (1024x768)

would like to know which outboard scaler you would compare the psm board to. also what type chip does it use, or does the comparison of sage or gensis chips refer to scaling or just de-interlacing. hope my question is not to dumb.

thanks

·
Registered
392 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Quote:
to know which outboard scaler you would compare the psm board to.
It's difficult to say to which outboard scaler the PSM-1 is comparable since it's actually an add on board which has the distinct advantage that it deinterlaces/scales the video signal in digital form.

For more detail check out:

www.cinematrix-usa.com

Quote:
also what type chip does it use, or does the comparison of sage or gensis chips refer to scaling or just de-interlacing.
Cinematrix uses a chip of their own. AFAIK neither the Sage nor the Genesis chip are able to scale.

·
Registered
4,111 Posts
I bought an 7700+PSM1 from them in early 2002; I too wonder what the "upgrades" could be. Now that I'm using it w/a projector (like I intended), I see some pretty bad ghosting/ringing (to the right of the image)--any thoughts?

Also, has anyone noticed the U.S. web page has disappeared as well as their office (I think)?? Are they going under??

·
Registered
21,720 Posts