AVS Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm very new at digital projection. Thinking of buying one to replace my slide projector that I use for lectures. If I want to show some still JPEG images do I have to go through a computer to output to the projector, or can I put a disk, flash stick or hook my camera directly through a USB port?

If I am shooting images with a 10.1 Canon EOS, will the images be comparable to my 35mm slides?

Thanks for these newbie questions.

·
Registered
1,084 Posts
The USB connectivity on a projector is typically going to be for firmware update / remote mouse control, not as a video input or mobile storage connection. I would expect you to need a laptop to generate the video image and drive it to the DVI or VGA input.

The Infocus LP600 is like many of the more recent TVs though, where it has included media handling and some type of control software. So for it, you could just put your stuff on a USB key and plug it in and show the pictures. I don't know how nice the software is, and you couldn't do anything like show a PowerPoint presentation this way.

·
Registered
84 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the info on the Infocus LP600. That is what I was hoping some of the projectors would have as inputs to show a raw photo without any photoshop work on it.

Has anyone compared the clarity of a 35mm slide projected to the same size on a screen as a 10 megapixel image projected by a digital projector?

·
Registered
1,084 Posts
The problem is you won't find any 10 megapixel projectors. 720p projectors aren't even 1 megapixel, and 1080p projectors are still shy of 2 megapixels. So the 10 megapixel source material will not be your limiting issue.

I think you'll simply have to try it out, and determine if the resolution is adequate for whatever it is you are showing. If we had 10 megapixel projectors, now that would be something.