AVS Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
If there already are a few discussions on this, please feel free to shoot me towards them. Going out of the country for a week after tomorrow but just wanted to test the waters here.

I am a college student looking to refine his mismatched, vintage styled home theater system. My current receiver is a Pioneer VSX-704S with 375Watts running Dolby Pro Logic. Main components include a Akai X-200D reel2reel, Pioneer LaserDisc D-704, and a DVD player which brand escapes me right now. All connections are analog based, the receiver has no optical or digital inputs. The speakers I had were old and this year I am hoping for something a tad better. The main part of the room next year is medium sized, about 12 by 20 feet with an attached kitchenette on one side of the wall. Will be buying local used speakers probably off of Craigslist. Money is tight but not super tight.

Because of the size of the room, I will probably buy tower speakers to provide enough power in the room. Any thoughts or suggestions for how to go about testing/choosing speakers?

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Probably under $300 for two tower speakers.

Perhaps I can rephrase my questions a bit better:

1.) How much should I pay attention to brand names?

2.) What are the arguments for a tower speaker set with matched surrounds versus an out of the box system?

3.) What things should I listen for in a set of used tower speakers?

4.) Could anyone recommend a good starter set?

·
Registered
7,063 Posts
The Boston Acoustics Classic II CS260 are going for $140 each on Amazon right now; that is a great price for a pretty good-sounding speaker.

You can also get Polk Monitor 60 speakers for a similar price, but I personally would say that the Boston 260 is better-sounding for the same money.