AVS Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there. Noobie here but a long time reader.

here is the deal...i have basic cable with the tiny, little 3 inch box in my office to just get basic tv channels and cable channels from comcast. so, for example, i do get ESPN and local cable channels.

a coworkers office across the hall has comcast's scientific atlantic box and gets more advanced channels like MLB network which is the main reason i want to get his channels.

i have never done this before but was told if I buy a two way splitter..I got a 2-way splitter digital pro from wal mart for $8 (see here: http://www.walmart.com/ip/GE-Digital-2-Way-Splitter/16561365 ) and connected via another coax cable to my TV then I could see all his channels from his box but whatever he decided to watch or change the channel to would be displayed on my tv. i have no problem with this set up.

when I set it up his tv worked as normal with all channels but mine had a multi colored error screen and when I flipped to other channels nothing was displayed.

here was the process: bought 100 foot coax cable. plugged into back of my TV. ran it through ceiling tiles (roughly 80ft total i'd estimate) and plugged into one of the two OUT connectors on the splitter. on the other OUT connector of the splitter I have a coax cable to the CABLE OUT connector on the cable box. the CABLE in connector on the cable box is a coax to the back of his tv.

I have a feeling I am not doing this right and have the connections mixed up but am confused as to why he gets all channels on his TV and i get nothing.

any help would be appreciated. thanks!

·
Registered
2,729 Posts