AVS Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking for a tv in the 1200 range, and so far have only found a tcp50c1, 50pq60, ln46b530, and tcp42ui

These are the only four plasmas i have really found in my price range(1200 canadian) and could use some help in deciding since i am new to tvs and also an unable to find any reviews on 3 of the tvs.

Also, if their are any other suggestions for tvs that you guys think are better i would love to hear. Do not mind if it is +/- 100 from my 1200 price range

Thanks guys

·
Registered
472 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Borkis /forum/post/16976008

I am looking for a tv in the 1200 range, and so far have only found a tcp50c1, 50pq60, ln46b530, and tcp42ui

These are the only four plasmas i have really found in my price range(1200 canadian) and could use some help in deciding since i am new to tvs and also an unable to find any reviews on 3 of the tvs.

Also, if their are any other suggestions for tvs that you guys think are better i would love to hear. Do not mind if it is +/- 100 from my 1200 price range

Thanks guys

I hate to say this, but the Panasonics are still severely overpriced here in Canada. The C1 is the entry level 720p model, and the U1 is a stripped down model intended to offer 1080p at 720p prices. Not in Canada. Nothing really against them as displays, I actually like Panasonic, but relative to their pricing here I'd pass, unless a deep discount is offered. The 720p LG 50PQ60 is a FS exclusive model, based on the 50PQ30/20. If you look for info/reviews on those models it will mostly apply to the PQ60. These 50" PQ's are discounted fairly often for $100-200 below your target. Just last week they hit new low water marks.

The LN46B530 is an LCD.

In the 720p category the Samsung PN50B450 is in your range and decent. You should look into the Samsung Buzz issue, though, if it interests you.