AVS Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to home theater and really dont have a clue as to whats a good purchase as far as receivers and speakers. I recently went to best buy and listened to two systems one by definitive technologies and the other by klipsch. I preferred the klipsch but the price ($2700) was out of my league. Both were used in conjunction with a pioneer elite reciever. I am considering the aperion 4t hybrid and pairing it with a pioneer or denon reciever. I will have approx $600 for the reciever. I will be using both with a 50" panasonic plasma and a blueray player. Its going to be setup in my basement and used 80% of the time for movies and 20% of the time for music. Any input is appreciated

·
Registered
498 Posts
Start your search in the speaker section, they are the most important part of the system. If you are looking to be around $2000, then break up your budget. Figure in the $1000 range for the 5 speakers with most of that budget for the front 3. They are the most important, the surrounds can be much lower cost in most cases. Once you have decided on speaker, move to subwoofer. Figure $400-500 there to get a quality HT sub. Once they are both done, then come back here to the receiver section. In most cases the $500 range should work great, unless you happen to decide on some power hungry speakers but you'll know what speakers you are buying so people can give better recommendations.

·
Registered
498 Posts
Just took a look at that package and the subwoofer may be the weak point. In most cases for home theater you want at least a 12" or larger. There are exceptions of course, but I think you could do much better on the sub.

·
Registered
1,379 Posts