AVS Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a novice that thinks he know a thing or two but reading these forums, I know jack" Things are changing so rapidly I'm not sure a previous posts covers this. I am about to purchase an Epson 1080UB projector. When I had the room remodled, I could not get to a store in time to purchase a 50' + HDMI cable while they were dry walling. So I installed component video and Cat 5 in the ceiling where I plan to mount the projector back to my audio and video components. A Dish DVR, Sony Playstation Blueray, Sony DVD/CD player and PC fed into a Denon AVR 987 with HDMI in and HDMI and Component Video Out. (no DVI) I have no need for audio signal at the projector site (the ceiling). Audio will be run from the Receiver to a new set of speakers either in the walls or molding next to the screen. (no help needed there)

My question is; for picture quality, convenience, and alike. Should I run the picture via the ready to go component video cables from the reciever to projector (not high end cables, just standard) or should I install some sort of HDMI / CAT 5 converter? By the way I do have power in the cieling for both a projector and if needed a converter. If suggesting converting versus Component, any other brands or suggestions I should consider. Just read something about the new Honeywell wall mount converters but have no clue what works best. Thank you so so much!

Jay

·
23,032 Posts
The problem with component video is that most a/v processors and receivers will not upscale a SD resolution input from a HDMI source to a HD resolution over component, e.g. 480i/p from a DVD player. Also, today, most gear skimps on the component connectors (who uses real 75 ohm BNC connectors these days?) and for long runs there's a chance for some PQ degradation with component that would be visible on a big screen compared to HDMI.