AVS Forum banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey, im new to home theaters and i have a question. im looking at putting in a direct tv, with xbox 360. I have a 62" dlp tv now, but i also want to have a 106" screen that comes down in front of it for movies games and sporting events. i have a onkyo tx-604 receiver and what i was trying to do is run the xbox 360 and direct tv through the receiver and out to the tv and projector.

my question is.....

neither the tv or projector will be on at the same time....im using component cables for both....and my receiver only has 1 component out. so can i use "Y" cables at the receiver out component. and then have seperate componant cables running to the tv and projector?

will i suffer from image loss? do i need a 4:2 componant converter or wil the "Y" cables work because both units will not be on at the same time....

thanks..any info is greatly appriecated.

·
Registered
1,856 Posts
I just clicked on it and it worked for me...hmmm

Yes, it's a component cable splitter, one end has standard comp cable which would connect to the receiver, the other end has a comp cable splitter...one to the tv one to the projector. go to the monoprice website and do a search for splitter...scroll down and you should see it.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
yea...i just bought it....so ill check it out...what does a distribution amp do?....ill be running about 25' of component cable to my projector....

also do they make these splitters for hdmi cable?

·
Registered
109 Posts
The distribution amplifier does the same thing as the splitter, only it amplifies the signal so you dont experience loss in image quality.

If you however dont have both on at once, you shouldnt have too much of a problem if any.

·
Banned
2,646 Posts

Quote:
If you however dont have both on at once, you shouldnt have too much of a problem if any.