AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Will any newer computer monitor be able to display the standard hdtv formats 480i,480p,1080i. I'm getting a xbox and its supports 480p for the games, will I see a 480p signal on my monitor. Another question, my TV right now doesn't have s video or component video. I saw on Toshiba 32 TV that says it can handle 800 lines of resoultion. If I hook up the Xbox to that tv will it have 800 lines or resoultion? In other words, will a see a dramatic difference between the Toshiba set and the TV I have now or should I not get the Toshiba and use that money towards a HDTV since I plan on getting one in the near future. I was also thinking about going the DTV route to save some money, anyone know of any good sites that sell DTV's or used and refurbished HDTV's? Any comments or suggestions will be helpful for I am a newbie in this field.

·
Registered
3,858 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by schultzie73
Will any newer computer monitor be able to display the standard hdtv formats 480i,480p,1080i. I'm getting a xbox and its supports 480p for the games, will I see a 480p signal on my monitor. Another question, my TV right now doesn't have s video or component video. I saw on Toshiba 32 TV that says it can handle 800 lines of resoultion. If I hook up the Xbox to that tv will it have 800 lines or resoultion? In other words, will a see a dramatic difference between the Toshiba set and the TV I have now or should I not get the Toshiba and use that money towards a HDTV since I plan on getting one in the near future. I was also thinking about going the DTV route to save some money, anyone know of any good sites that sell DTV's or used and refurbished HDTV's? Any comments or suggestions will be helpful for I am a newbie in this field.