AVS Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I want to run conduit to the attic from basement distribution center of a new construction home. What can you use for the conduit? It sounds like a dumb quetion, but I don't want to violate any codes.

Can you use 2" PVC? What about the Resi-gard?

Just wanting some options. Will probably run 2 of these 2" conduits up to attic for upgrades later.

How do you run the wires in the attic to each room? Can you just drape them across joists?

If I want to run conduit from entertainment location to the distribution location, can this have any turns/elbows in the run or will this cause a major problem when pulling cables?

Thanks for the help....

·
Registered
40 Posts
disclaimer: i am not an electrician

so long as it's not a plenum (air space) I wouldn't see any problems with either so long as it's only low voltage in there, if the home is still incomplete see if you can drop by sometime when the eletrical contractor is there and bounce the idea off him, resi-gard should be allowed by code since that's one of the purposes of the stuff.

once you start putting in corners and bends, you shouldn't have any problems pulling cables through that so long as you leave a pull string in there when you lay it or you may run into problems actually pulling in the cable.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I've read in here that some builders don't like customers to run low-voltage wiring because it could cause problems during inspection.

What would you have to do with low-voltage to cause a big problem with an inspector? It seems this would not be a big problem being low-voltage or speaker wires, etc.

Just want to know what not to do??? Would really rather run most runs before dry-wall, but don't want to cause problems or have to rip out the work for inspectors.

Can you contact inspectors some how to find out what they are looking for?

Thanks,

·