Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I am reading this forums for more than a year now and try to catch up with newest developments.

I am starting to build my HTPC, as I am a PC builder and system engineer the tech stuff will be no issue, but these days i am very confused about the setuppossibilities Nowadays there are many possibilities even custom build software.

But what is the best solution so far between

1. a software dvd player (powerdvd. windvd, theatertek, zoomplayer, ...) which reads from a DVD ROM and which is progressive scan.

2. external DVD player with s-video, composite video and component output

3. external progressive scan DVD player.

I understand that it is always best to avoid a projector's internal scaler, so connecting the external DVD player to the projector is not a good idea. I have read that it is better to connect that s-video signal to the HTPC with a capture card (s-video in from RADEON 8500 AIW) and use Dscaler to deinterlace before sending it to the projector SVGA input. Am I right on this? Actually the PC acts an external scaler/video processor right?

So what is wrong with a software DVD player, which is not interlaced at all or an external progressive scan DVD player?

HT equipment:

Denon 1500 DVD player with s-video, composite, and component video output

Sony VA8ES 5.1 amplifier

Sony EP9ES dolby digital decoder

Sony VHS video

speakers: rear and center JBL SVA 1500, front JBL SVA 2100

I wil connect the future HTPC to a medium wide screen TV and to a Sharp notevision 6 LCD projector.

Furthermore I will use it for DVD and mp3 playback, digital recording.

:confused: :confused: :confused:

·
Registered
3,316 Posts
The most oft-used and best solution would be to use a software player so your computer does the deinterlacing and scaling up to your display's resolution internally.